STAFF TOOLKIT

SMMUSD



Samohi Homepage     


Athletics Home
Calendar
Athletic Clearance
Athletic Donation
Competing Schools
NCAA
Tryouts
Volunteering
 Staff Directory




Welcome to Samohi Athletics. We are excited for you to join the Viking family this upcoming school year. Tryout dates and times are listed below by season and sport. Students can play multiple sports as long as they are not during the same season (i.e., a student can play both Football and Basketball but cannot play Football and Cross Country.) In order to participate in tryouts, all students must bring a current physical completed by their physician on the sports physical form. Physicals are valid for one year from date given.

For updates, check the schedule below or contact:
Yvonne Strahn - Athletic Assistant, 310-395-3204 ext 71536 ystrahn@smmusd.org
Daniel Tran - Athletic Trainer, 310-395-3204 ext. 71411, dtran@smmusd.org
Evan Fujinaga - Athletic Director, ext. 71532, efujinaga@smmusd.org

Tryouts for 2019-2020 School Year

FALL

Boys & Girls Cross Country
Head Coach: Tania Fischer
Email: tfischer@smmusd.org
July 6, 2019: 9:00am-10:30am
August 10, 2019: 9:00am-10:30am
August 17, 2019: 9:00am-10:30am
Meet at Ocean Ave at end of Montana Ave

Need only to attend one of the days. Please contact Coach Fischer for 3-mile time trial requirements.

Football
Head Coach: Matt Kirk
Email: mkirk@smmusd.org

June 24, 2019: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Sealy (Baseball) Field
Pep Squad
Head Coach: Dominic Lawerence
Email: dom20138@icloud.com
Mandatory Tryout Clinics - see website

May 15, 2019 - 4:00pm-6:00pm
South Gym Cheer/Dance Room
Girls Golf
Head Coach: Kevin McKeown
Email: komckeown@smmusd.org

All Interested are welcome to join the team

Girls Tennis
Head Coach: Shaun Simone
Email: ssimone@smmusd.org

June 17, 2019 - 3:00pm-5:00pm
Tennis Courts

Girls Volleyball
Head Coach: Liane Sato
Email: lsato@smmusd.org

June 13-14, 2019 - 2:15pm-5:00pm
South Gym

Boys Water Polo
Head Coach: Matt Flanders
Email: mflanders@smmusd.org

June 13, 2019 - 8:00am-10:00am
Drake Pool



WINTER

Boys Basketball
Head Coach: James Hecht
Email: jhecht@smmusd.org

June 17-19, 2019 - 10:00am-12:00pm
North & South Gyms

Girls Basketball
Head Coach: Doug Kim
Email: dkim@smmusd.org

June-14-15, 17-19, 2019 - 1:00pm-3:00pm
North Gym

Boys Soccer
Head Coach: Paul Spacey
Email: paulspacey7@gmail.com

June 18-20, 2019 - 2:00pm-4:00pm
John Adams Middle School

Girls Soccer
Head Coach: Jimmy Chapman
Email: jchapman@smmusd.org

June 25-27, 2019 - 2:00pm-4:00pm
John Adams Middle School Field

Boys & Girls Wrestling
Head Coach: Jason Mun
Email: jmun@smmusd.org

TBA - September 2019

Girls Water Polo
Head Coach: Matt Flanders
Email: mflanders@smmusd.org

June 13, 2019 - 10:00am-12:00pm
Drake Pool

SPRING

Baseball
Head Coach: Willie Cabrera
Email: wcabrera@samohibaseball.com

Boys Golf
Head Coach: Bart Burdick
Email: bburdick@smmusd.org

Winter 2019 TBA

Boys Lacrosse
Head Coach: Ben Keiser
Email: benjaminkeiser@gmail.com

Contact coach for tryout information
Girls Lacrosse
Head Coach: Brian Patenaude
Email: bpatenaude@smmusd.org

June 15, 2019 - 9:00am-11:00am
Sealy (Baseball) Field

Softball
Head Coach: Leigh Campbell
Email: campbell.leighm@gmail.com

Boys & Girls Swimming
Head Coach: Matt Flanders
Email: mflanders@smmusd.org

Winter 2019 - TBA

Boys Tennis
Head Coach: Shaun Simone
Email: ssimone@smmusd.org

November 2019 TBA

Boys & Girls Track & Field
Head Coach: Tania Fischer
Email: tfischer@smmusd.org

Winter 2019 TBA

Boys Volleyball
Head Coach: Liane Sato
Email: lsato@smmusd.org

June 17-18, 2019 - 12:30-2:30pm
North Gym












Campus Map



Email the Webmaster